Open vision bar

CCSD Students Place at State Elementary Science Olympiad

Posted On: Thursday, May 24, 2018

Georgia Science Olympiad

Two Cherokee County School District students placed at the State Elementary Science Olympiad!

The Cherokee County School District held its annual Elementary Science Olympiad in March, with more than 500 students from 30 teams participating in events such as Barge Building, Rock Hound, Water Rockets and The 24 Game. Cobb EMC and Gas South sponsored the event. For the first time in the history of the CCSD event, there was a tie for first place: Clark Creek ES STEM Academy Team Maroon and Mountain Road ES Team Red.

Jordyn Ramos

Haylee Castens

These two teams qualified to compete at the State Elementary Science Olympiad held in May at Kennesaw State University. Jordyn Ramos and Haylee Castens from Clark Creek ES STEM Academy placed eighth in the State competition in What’s the Matter.





Clark Creek ES STEM Academy Team Maroon 
Coach: Karen Garland
Neema Adolwa
Haylee Castens
Kellen Choate
Tyler Holley
Jackson Josef
Geethika Kalva
Dean Loa
Benjamin Medford
Samuel Mullins
Royce Paris
Klara Pettersen
Jordyn Ramos
John Reed
Benjamin Shaffer
Mihini Senanayake
Pradhyumna Vasishta

Mountain Road ES Team Red 
Coach: Desiree Smith
Riley Buck
Ethan Clay
Aiden Faber
Emma Fistel
Christopher Frankle
Derrick Gilbert
Emma Helms
Trevor Kennel
Linnea Knocke
Alyssa Loeffler
Ashley Mitchell
Taiwo Ogundele
Logan Parrott
Ethan Patsios
Charlotte Prichard
Rebekah Rogers
Sasha Sins
Dennis Whitley
Avery Whittle

The teams will be recognized by the Cherokee County School Board and Superintendent of Schools at the School Board’s June 21 meeting.


Back to School News      Print News Article