Open vision bar

CCSD Congratulates Retiring Employees

Posted On: Thursday, June 1, 2017

Schools and offices held retirement receptions supported by their staff members. A reception for retiring CCSD department heads was held on Tuesday at the Educational Services Annex in Canton. The five honored retirees – Director of Technology Services and Data Communications Tim Feltner, Supervisor of Special Education Sheryl Gould, Supervisor of Federal Programs Teresa Henry, Manager of Support Services Anita Lathem and Susan McCarthy, Assistant Superintendent of Educational Programs, Student Support, Accountability and Professional Development – were recognized with remarks by Assistant Superintendents and Dr. Hightower.

“These leaders dedicated themselves to our schools and District during their tenure,” Dr. Hightower said. “They leave behind of legacy of selfless service to improving education and our community.”

Each was presented with a plaque and a children’s book inspired by their vocation, a copy of which also will be placed in their name in the collection of a CCSD elementary school. Guests shared hugs and memories in receiving lines for each honoree, and enjoyed cake and punch; the reception and gifts were sponsored by a donation from Northside Hospital Cherokee, a CCSD Partner.

CCSD employees who retired this school year include:

Arnold Mill ES: Roberta Daniels, Robert Jordan and Judy Langston

Avery ES: Donna Dobson and Karen McClellan

Ball Ground ES STEM Academy: Principal Dr. Keith Ingram

Bascomb ES: Beth Denney, Kimberly Hellenga, Debra Jones, Donna Mihal and Linda Pritchett

Boston ES: Terese Gresham, Sue Hartwell, Kathleen Nalley and Lynn South

Canton ES STEM Academy: Debbie Bryant and Sherry Cooper

Carmel ES: Charlotte Chastain, Kathryn Choquette, Diane Clark, Kelly Maugans and Stefanie Schoeller

Cherokee HS: Beverly Darby and James Thompson

Clark Creek ES STEM Academy: Deb Abrams, Pamela Garmon, Madeline Hall, Dixie Mathews, Linda Pierzchala, Virginia Scialpi, Pamilia Travis and Dianne Vergouven

Clayton ES: Holly Brasfield

Creekland MS: Susan Albee, Susan DeBacker, Babette DeLaune, Louise Fox, Lovenia Houston, Mary Noland, Dana Phillips, Joanne Renfro-Poidevant, Kathleen Stockman and Principal Dr. Deborah Wiseman

Creekview HS: Linda Nicholson

Dean Rusk MS: Catherine Cass, Principal Cynthia Cooper and Phillip Wagoner

Educational Programs: Supervisor Teresa Henry and Assistant Superintendent Susan McCarthy

E.T. Booth MS: William Carter, Mary Duke, Pam Patterson, John Richberg and Deborah White

Etowah HS: Andrew Kakavelakis, Mary Shell and Charles Strickland

Free Home ES: Deborah Lundstrom and Sandy Simmons

Freedom MS: Camille Ward

Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy: Linda Crane, Patricia Hess and Laura Shiver

Hickory Flat ES: Suzanne Hynes

Holly Springs ES STEM Academy: Joyce Daniel, Mary LaFar, Elizabeth Purvis, Larry Tolerson and Sandra Threlkeld

Indian Knoll ES: Susan Wrensen

Johnston ES: Bonnie Carver, Karen Feltner and Barbara Ostrander

Liberty ES: Sandra Blohm and Cindy Mathews

Little River ES: Candis Livingston and Hazel Brock

Macedonia ES: Lynn Outlaw, Mary Sutton and Patricia Webber

Maintenance: Edward DeLima and Hugh Hodgins

Mill Creek MS: Phyllis Ailes, Shirley Bryant, Janet Hammen-Harry, Angela Keener and Janet Sergent

Mountain Road ES: Kay Marcum, Kathy Stamey and Tonya Slease-Cannon

Oak Grove ES Fine Arts Academy: Cindy Divine-Vilchez, Trenta Herrmann and Vicki McGill

Purchasing: Vickie Dunagan

River Ridge HS: Debbie Goldberg and Tamara Smith

R.M. Moore ES: Greg Hendrix, Cecelia Rainey and Ada Rogers

School Food Service: Manager Anita Lathem

School Police: Todd Maloney

School Operations: Kathy Bolin

Sequoyah HS: Shirley Anderson, Debra Baker, Diane Butterworth, Mark Farist, Brenda Priest and Curtis Williams

Sixes ES: Kathy Boyle, Brandon English, Laura Martin and Margaret Swarts

Special Education: Dr. Dan Campbell, Supervisor Sheryl Gould, Sue Hightower, Renee Jones and Dr. John Poidevant

Student Assessments: Gayle McLaurin

Teasley MS: Eula Chastain and Darrell Pendergrass

Technology Services: Susan Dreschel, Director Tim Feltner, Lynne Murphy, Deborah West and Joan Williams

Transportation: William Anderson, Shirley Crowe, William Davis, Shirley Drain, Charles Faucett, Beverly Greene, Rebecca King, Stephen Mraz, Brian O’Brien, Larry Sweat and Karen Warren

Tippens EC: Steve Frankel and Marge McMullen

Woodstock ES: Jane Hancock and Crista Sycks

Woodstock HS: Laura Cox, Susan Greene, Joanne May, Patricia Olton, Charles Pineo and Cathy Roberts

Woodstock MS: Kimball Blankenship, Jane Cochran, Melanie Huey and Lynn Reynolds

Back to School News      Print News Article