Open vision bar

Cherokee County PTA Units, Leaders Win State Awards

Posted On: Monday, August 6, 2018

national PTA logo

The Cherokee County School District’s school PTA units and leaders have won top State awards for their family engagement efforts! 

The Georgia PTA presents statewide awards to outstanding PTA units and parent leaders at its annual conference, and CCSD claimed an impressive list of high honors.  The CCSD winners will be recognized by the Cherokee County School Board and Superintendent of Schools at the School Board’s Aug. 16 meeting.

Little River Elementary School was named Georgia’s Outstanding Local Unit for Elementary Schools, and Mill Creek Middle School was named Georgia’s Outstanding Local Unit for Middle Schools.  River Ridge High School won third place among high schools for this award.

Mill Creek Middle School was named the Georgia PTA’s overall middle school winner of the Hearst Family-School Partnership Award, which recognizes exceptional efforts to encourage families, schools and communities to work together to achieve student success.  Woodstock High School earned State honors for its work in achieving one of the Hearst Award’s specific pillars: Speaking Up for Every Child. 

Darrell Herring, who retired at the end of the school year as Principal of River Ridge HS, was named the Georgia PTA’s Outstanding Principal of the Year.

Eight schools also earned the honor of State Model PTA: Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, E.T. Booth MS, Hickory Flat ES, Indian Knoll ES, Little River ES, Mill Creek MS, River Ridge HS and Woodstock HS.

The Georgia PTA awards follow recognition at the regional District 13 level, at which CCSD parents and educators earned numerous top honors.

Jennifer Wilson of Little River Elementary School and Kathy Strom of Cherokee High School, immediate past president of the Cherokee County Council of PTA, both won the Visionary Award for their leadership.

Two CCSD teachers won the District 13 Birney Butler Outstanding Educator Award: Jennifer Bledsoe of Hickory Flat Elementary School and Rebecca Coury of Cherokee High School, and Joy Harrison of Clark Creek Elementary School STEM Academy was named Outstanding School Nurse. 

Clark Creek ES STEM Academy’s PTA won the Best Idea Award at the District level for its Diversity Flags project: flags from 22 countries representing where students were born are displayed in the cafeteria.

Back to School News      Print News Article