Open vision bar

CCSD PE Teachers Named Georgia's Recreation Specialists of the Year!

Posted On: Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Amy Aenchbacher and Dave Martine

Two Cherokee County School District teachers have been named Georgia’s Recreation Specialists of the Year!

Amy Aenchbacher and Dave Martinez, who both work as adaptive physical education specialists for CCSD’s Special Education department, earned the honor from the Georgia Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, & Dance (GAHPERD).

The Award recognizes professionals for their outstanding efforts, commitment and accomplishments in the area of physical activity and recreation.  Recipients have advanced and promoted the role of health, physical education, recreation and dance through their work.

In addition to their successful careers as CCSD educators, Ms. Aenchbacher and Mr. Martinez together serve as co-coordinators for the Cherokee County Special Olympics.  Under their leadership, the organization has grown significantly over the past decade, serving more students and young adults and increasing community engagement and support.

“What a dynamic duo we have in Dave and Amy: two outstanding educators truly dedicated to ensuring every child experiences physical activity and competition, no matter the challenges to overcome,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “They embrace the spirit of the Special Olympics’ oath to be brave in every attempt, no matter whether you win.  This spirit has lead Dave and Amy to great success, including this much-deserved honor.” 

They each have earned numerous professional honors, including Ms. Aenchbacher’s winning of the 2015 BlazeSports Triumph of the Human Spirit Award, which honors Georgians who make significant impacts through adaptive sport and recreation; and Mr. Martinez’s winning of the 2015 William A. Hillman Distinguished Service Award presented by the National Consortium for Physical Education Individuals with Disabilities.  In 2017, they together were honored with the Lamar Haley Community Service Award presented by the Rotary Club of Canton.

They will receive their Recreation Specialists of the Year Awards at the 2018 GAHPERD Convention in Athens in October and will be recognized by the Cherokee County School Board and Superintendent of Schools at the School Board’s Oct. 18 meeting.


Back to School News      Print News Article