Open vision bar

Sixteen CCSD Students Selected for Georgia Governor’s Honors Program!

Posted On: Friday, May 11, 2018

ccsd gov honors 2018

ccsd governors honors finalists 2018

Sixteen Cherokee County School District students have been selected for the competitive Georgia Governor’s Honors Program.

The four-week summer instructional program at Berry College for rising high school juniors and seniors is designed to provide students with academic, cultural and social enrichment “necessary to become the next generation of global critical thinkers, innovators and leaders.” Students live and study on the campus in Rome from June 17 to July 14.

Students apply for a specific area of study and are screened and interviewed locally and at the State level as part of the selection process for the prestigious program.

The CCSD students selected for this honor, with their area of study noted, are:

Cherokee HS
Jacqueline Johnson, Communicative Arts

Creekview HS
Adam Morrison, Theatre
Riley Ortega, Music
Nathanael Seman, Music

Etowah HS
Keirra Dodd, World Languages
Megan Oglesby, World Languages
Katherine Slacanin, Dance

River Ridge HS
Lillian Dammann, Social Studies
Alicia Mazzurra, Communicative Arts
Billie O’Bryant, Social Studies

Sequoyah HS
Brae Davies, Mathematics
Olivia Goss, Communicative Arts
Marko Petrovic, World Languages

Woodstock HS
Ella Elbeck, Science
Zakwan Khan, Social Studies
Eliza Ndow, Social Studies

They will be recognized by the Superintendent of Schools and School Board at the Board’s meeting on Thursday.



Back to School News      Print News Article