Open vision bar

Celebrating National School Nurse Day: Bridging the Gap!

Posted On: Wednesday, May 9, 2018

National School Nurse Day 2018

National School Nurse Day 2018 photos

The Cherokee County School District is served every day by a team of 43 dedicated school nurses, who care for the whole student, whole school and whole community.

Today is National School Nurse Day, and this year’s statewide school nursing theme celebrates how these professionals are “Bridging the Gap” for the children and families they serve.

You may have memories of visiting the nurse’s office for what seemed like the worst playground scrape ever or a stomach bug that hit you in second period. For many of our 42,000-plus students today, the school nurse is a part of their daily life: someone who provides life-saving medicine, someone who stands ready to administer an emergency shot of epinephrine, someone who may provide them with their only regular medical screenings and healthcare.

We ask more of these professionals than ever before, as advances in medicine and healthcare offer more opportunities for improving the lives of students as they attend school. And they serve not only our students, but also our 4,700 full-time and 1,000 part-time employees, as well as parents and volunteers when they experience a medical need while on campus. Our school nurses are researchers, public health partners, and advocates for better health and wellness for all.

“Our schools care for the whole child, and that care would be impossible without the expertise, experience and extraordinary compassion our school nurses bring to our team,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said. “I appreciate our school nurses and thank each of them for all they do every day!”

CCSD School Nurses
CCSD Lead Nurse Gwen Chambers, 1988
CCSD Lead Nurse Jami Stefano, 2011
Sherrie Smith, ACE Academy, 2007
Betty Miller, Arnold Mill ES, 2010
Sandra McFarland, Avery ES, 2000
Kim Bishop, Ball Ground ES STEM Academy, 2013
Susan Grant, Bascomb ES, 2017
Amber Thayer, Boston ES, 2007
Lisha Smith, Canton ES STEM Academy, 2006
Lisa Warrington, Carmel ES, 2017
Denise Blackwell, Cherokee HS, 2012
Joy Harrison, Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, 2013
Teresa Tatum, Clayton ES, 1995
Carol Reed, Creekland MS, 2016
Amanda Hansell, Creekview HS, 2014
Christine Lynch, Dean Rusk MS, 2015
Wanda Ligon, E.T. Booth MS, 2002
Cathy Alexander, Etowah HS, 2002
Sharon Sullivan, Free Home ES, 2004
Dana Oden, Freedom MS, 2000
Kristy Hough, Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy, 2015
Mariellen Metraw, Hickory Flat ES, 2000
Renee Michael, Holly Springs ES STEM Academy, 2014
Maria Hicks, Indian Knoll ES, 2011
Laure Carroll, Johnston ES, 2008
Ivanka Ivanova, Johnston Preschool Center, 2015
Allison Rhodes, Knox ES, 2011
Charlene Dalfonso, Liberty ES, 2005
Resa Breitbart, Little River ES, 2005
Pam Tomeny, Macedonia ES, 2008
Thania Molina, Mill Creek MS, 2016
Janet Jarvis, Mountain Road ES, 1996
Nadia Jones, Oak Grove ES Fine Arts Academy, 2017
Deana Fronebarger, R.M. Moore ES, 2001
Tricia Griffith, Ralph Bunche Center, 2015
Kim Bearden, River Ridge HS, 2005
Erin Krantz, Sequoyah HS, 2015
Sue Dyer, Sixes ES, 2003
Kathy Thomas, Teasley MS, 2015
Dawn Beasley, Tippens Education Center, 2007
Tayler Cahill, Woodstock ES, 2015
Vickie Hyde, Woodstock HS, 2008
Traci Baggett, Woodstock MS, 2015


Back to School News      Print News Article