Open vision bar

22 CCSD Students Headed to State Science & Engineering Fair!

Posted On: Wednesday, February 27, 2019

CCSD Science Fair 2 27 19

Twenty-two Cherokee County School District students are headed to the Georgia Science and Engineering Fair next month!

CCSD’s top young scientists and engineers recently competed at the Northwest Georgia Regional Science and Engineering Fair, where 22 students – all from three schools: E.T. Booth Middle, Freedom Middle and Woodstock High -- earned first-place and the opportunity to advance to the State event.  The State fair is at the University of Georgia from March 28-30.  

CCSD’s Region first-place winners are: from E.T. Booth MS, Neema Adolwa, Haylee Castens, Cristina Garcia, Alexandra McPherson, Mikayla Parks, Bella Postel, Lydia Wooley; from Freedom MS, Milan Yadav; from Woodstock HS, Dayne Bergman, Pfifer Blackman, Maddie Blanchard, Caitlin Callahan, Mackenzie Englert, Abigail Fitz, Emma Frazer, Zakwan Khan, Carly Major, Christopher Nikolov, Lillie Grace Osborne, Isabel Plower, Emily Sloan, and Jacob Tweddle.  

CCSD also saw a strong showing of students who earned second or third place at the Regional fair, where they competed in a field of 100 projects, including second-place winners: of Dean Rusk MS, Eli Jerguson; of E.T. Booth MS, Katie Aycock, Rebecca Frix, Brock Herndon, Olivia Lambert, Marissa Migneco, Blake Nash; of Mill Creek MS, Carolyn Forrester, Ava Leopard; of Woodstock HS, Bryce Hunter and Juliette Thomas; and third-place winners, of Dean Rusk MS, Colin Kennel, Kobe Valone; of E.T. Booth MS, Audrey Miller and Jason West.

Cobb EMC/Gas South and Cherokee County Water and Sewerage Authority (CCWSA) sponsored additional awards for select CCSD projects, with $50 prizes awarded by each.  Winners are: for Cobb EMC/Gas South, Dayne Bergman, Pfifer Blackman, Maddie Blanchard, Haylee Castens, Abigail Fitz, Eli Jerguson, Zakwan Khan, Alexandra McPherson, Carly Major, Lydia Wooley; for CCSWA, Mackenzie Englert, Lillie Grace Osborne; and winning prizes from both sponsors, Christopher Nikolov, Isabel Plower, Bella Postel, Emily Sloan and Jacob Tweddle.

#CCSDfam #CCSDstem

Back to School News      Print News Article