Open vision bar

CCSD Honors Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition Winners!

Posted On: Thursday, May 24, 2018

Isabelle Blevins

Isabelle Blevins


A Cherokee County School District student won first place in the Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition!

The annual writing contest is open to students in grades kindergarten through 12 and provides an opportunity for schools to encourage writing in a variety of genres.  Each CCSD school submitted a top entry for each grade level to compete at the District level, with 176 school-level winners submitted.  District judges then selected a first-place winner for each grade level.

The District’s 13 first-place winners advanced to the Regional Educational Service Agency’s competition, where six earned first place, and one of those entries went on to earn first place at State. Dean Rusk MS eighth-grader Isabelle Blevins’ entry, “Hate to Love,” earned first place at District, Region and State competition!

The other District winners, with Regional placement noted, are:

Kindergarten: Olivia Hill, Macedonia ES, “The Mouse Mystery,” First Place – Regions

First Grade: Chloe Vilvens, Ball Ground ES STEM Academy, “The Cove,” Third Place – Regions

Second Grade: Elle Pope, Avery ES, “The Secret of Colored Spots”

Third Grade: Alexander Severson, Indian Knoll ES, “End of Time”

Fourth Grade: Angelica Persichetti, Sixes ES, “Ocean,” First Place – Regions

Fifth Grade: Felicity Jeong, Holly Springs ES STEM Academy, “Finally Home”

Sixth Grade: Christina Warren, Creekland MS, “Dear Minnie,” First Place – Regions

Seventh Grade: Lana Fischer, E.T. Booth MS, “Sunrise,” First Place – Regions

Ninth Grade: Sophie Abbott, Woodstock HS, “I Don’t Know Much,” Third Place – Regions

10th Grade: Chelsea Mandel, Creekview HS, “A Game of Cards,” First Place – Regions

11th Grade: Delena Howell, Sequoyah HS, “Forget Me Not,” Second Place – Regions

12th Grade: Lauren Pfitzenmayer, Sequoyah HS, “Ocean Eyes,” Second Place – Regions

The District-level winners of the Young Georgia Authors Writing Competition will be honored by the Cherokee County School Board and Superintendent of Schools at the School Board’s June 21 meeting.


Back to School News      Print News Article