• Alert:

    You have reached an old version of our website that is no longer updated.  Please go to www.cherokeek12.net to see our current district website and our current school webpages.

Close alert
Open vision bar

32 CCSD Students Headed to State Science & Engineering Fair!

Posted On: Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Clark Creek ES STEM Academy Science Fair 2 25 20

Clark Creek Elementary School STEM Academy is celebrating its six students who are headed to the State Science Fair!  They are: Juliette Kvenild, Grayson Mirabelli, Lexington Johnson, Mary Huffman, Naomi White and Sydney Smerker.

Thirty-two Cherokee County School District students are advancing to Georgia Science and Engineering Fairs next month!

CCSD’s top young scientists and engineers recently competed at the Northwest Georgia Regional Science and Engineering Fair, where 32 students – all from three schools: Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, E.T. Booth Middle, and Woodstock High -- earned first-place and the opportunity to advance to the State events.  

The Georgia Science and Engineering Fair for middle and high school students is at the University of Georgia from March 26-28.  The K-5 State Science Fair is March 12 at Georgia College in Milledgeville.

CCSD’s Region first-place winners are: from Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, Mary Huffman, Lexington Johnson, Juliette Kvenild, Grayson Mirabelli, Sydney Smerker and Naomi White; from E.T. Booth MS, Claire Bailey, Haylee Castens, Cristina Garcia, Brock Herndon, Cara Holland, Jack Kennard, Madeline May, Carter Mentzel, Isabella Postel, Victoria Ramos-Jackson, Jared Riddick, Bryson Tharpe, Lydia Wooley; and from Woodstock HS, Tala Akar, Tabitha Battaglia, Dayne Bergman, Abigail Fitz, Emma Frazer, Brianna Harris, Jolie Jones, Zakwan Khan, Mackenzie O’Connor, Lillie Osborne, Isabel Plower, Trinity Royal and Madison Tomlin.

CCSD also saw a strong showing of students who earned second or third place at the Regional fair, including second-place winners: Miah Norton of Creekland MS, Anvita Rautray of E.T. Booth MS, Kelsey Muller of Freedom MS, Ava Murphy of Woodstock HS; and third-place winners: from Dean Rusk MS, Jacey Frye, Maci Hamilton and Rilee Williams; Sophia Yadav of Freedom MS; and from Woodstock HS, Pfifer Blackman and Brodie Solomon.

Cobb EMC/Gas South and Cherokee County Water and Sewerage Authority (CCWSA) sponsored additional awards for select CCSD projects, with $50 prizes awarded by each.  Isabel Plower of Woodstock HS won prizes from both sponsors.  Cobb EMC/Gas South winners are: from Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, Juliette Kvenild, Sydney Smerker, Naomi White; Miah Norton of Creekland MS; from E.T. Booth MS, Isabella Postel and Anvita Rautray; Alexis Barker    of Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy; from Woodstock HS, Tala Akar, Tabitha Battaglia, Dayne Bergman, Abigail Fitz, Emma Frazer, Jolie Jones and Zakwan Khan.  CCSWA winners are: from E.T. Booth MS, Madeline May, Victoria Ramos-Jackson and Lydia Wooley, and Brodie Solomon of Woodstock HS. 

#CCSDfam #CCSDstem

Back to School News      Print News Article