• Alert:

    You have reached an old version of our website that is no longer updated.  Please go to www.cherokeek12.net to see our current district website and our current school webpages.

Close alert
Open vision bar

CCSD Announces First-Ever Support Staff Employee of the Year Awards!

Posted On: Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Support Staff Employee of the Year Awards announcement 2 12 19

The Cherokee County School District next month will present its first-ever Support Staff Employee of the Year Awards!

The celebration on March 5 will honor one Support Staff Employee of the Year from each of CCSD’s schools, centers and central office divisions.  Each honoree will be recognized by the Superintendent of Schools and School Board members, receive a plaque and gifts of appreciation, and enjoy a reception with their family and Principal. 

At the conclusion of the evening, surprise presentations will be made to one overall CCSD winner each in three categories: Elementary School; Middle School/High School/Centers; Central Office.  These winners are selected by a committee of retired educators and community leaders. 

“While teachers may be the employees most associated with a school, our school district could not succeed without the other half of our workforce: our valued support staff,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “This recognition is long overdue, and we’re so proud of each of them and the work they do to serve our students.  They keep our kids healthy, safe, and well-fed.  They keep our classrooms clean, our bills paid, and our buses running.  They keep our doors open and our lights on, and do it all with great pride.”

Everyone who works in a support role was eligible for their school’s or division’s honor – bookkeepers, bus drivers, cafeteria staff, clerks, custodians, paraprofessionals, police officers, psychologists, registrars, school nurses, secretaries, technology staff, therapists… and many, many more people important to CCSD’s operations.  The award winners were selected by their school or division colleagues.  Teachers, counselors, media specialists and administrators were not eligible, as they are honored through other awards programs.

The event would not be possible without generous donations from community partners including Presenting Sponsor, the Cherokee County Educational Foundation; Platinum Sponsors, ABM Industry Groups, LLC and Credit Union of Georgia; and Silver Sponsors, MealsPlus and Jennie-O. 

Additional sponsorship opportunities are available; interested businesses and organizations are encouraged to please contact Penny Dempsey at penny.dempsey@cherokeek12.net or 770.479.1871.

2019 CCSD Support Staff Employees of the Year:

ACE Academy

Kathy Frost, Administrative Secretary


Arnold Mill Elementary School

June Landers, School Secretary


Avery Elementary School

Phil Honea, Lead Custodian


Ball Ground Elementary School STEM Academy

Lisa Adams, School Nutrition Cafeteria Manager


Bascomb Elementary School

Deanna Rechsteiner, Bookkeeper


Boston Elementary School

Karen Cohen, Supportive Instruction Paraprofessional


Carmel Elementary School

Sharon Borg, Kindergarten Paraprofessional


CCSD Preschool Centers

Katie Flowers, Speech Language Pathologist


Cherokee High School              

Wendy Wemmer, Counseling Secretary


Clark Creek Elementary School STEM Academy

Nancy Stephan, Supportive Instruction Paraprofessional


Clayton Elementary School

Glenda Lanier, Student Records Facilitator


Creekland Middle School

Kathy Murphy, Special Education Paraprofessional


Creekview High School

Margie Paul, Special Education Paraprofessional


Dean Rusk Middle School

Christy Bennett, Supportive Instruction Paraprofessional


E.T. Booth Middle School

Emily Iwane, Principal’s Secretary


Etowah High School

June Pollack, Administrative Secretary


Free Home Elementary School

Wendy Comelitti, Principal’s Secretary/Student Facilitator


Freedom Middle School

Gary Howell, Custodian


Hasty Elementary School Fine Arts Academy

Mandy Brannon, Bookkeeper


Hickory Flat Elementary School

Jenny Juneghani, School Nurse


Holly Springs Elementary School STEM Academy

Laura Killen, School Psychologist


Indian Knoll Elementary School

Tammy Grummer, Bookkeeper


Johnston Elementary School

Leigh Ghorley, Bookkeeper


Knox Elementary School

Trina Hutchison, Registrar


Liberty Elementary School

Karla Reinhart, Supportive Instruction Paraprofessional


Little River Elementary School

Suzanne Newman, Kindergarten Paraprofessional


Macedonia Elementary School

Stephanie Greene, Registrar


Mill Creek Middle School

Thania Molina, School Nurse


Mountain Road Elementary School

Danelle Anderson, Supportive Instruction Paraprofessional


Oak Grove Elementary School Fine Arts Academy

Nadia Jones, School Nurse


R.M. Moore Elementary School STEM Academy

Dottie Townsend, Registrar


River Ridge High School

Virginia Elder, Principal’s Secretary


Sequoyah High School

Lori Jones, Custodian


Sixes Elementary School

Deena Smith, Bookkeeper


Teasley Middle School

Sharon Tatum, Front Office Secretary


Tippens Education Center

Dawn Beasley, School Nurse


Woodstock Elementary School

Diane Dumond, Supportive Instruction Paraprofessional


Woodstock High School

Carol Pontius, Principal's Secretary


Woodstock Middle School

Jayne Woodyard, Principal's Secretary


CCSD Office of Curriculum & Instruction

Jody Page, Special Education Supervisor Administrative Assistant


CCSD Office of Financial Management

Tammie Collis, Payroll Clerk


CCSD Office of Human Resources

Vickie Bryant, Staffing Clerk


CCSD Office of Safety & Security

School Police Officer Michael S. Hunt Jr. (River Ridge High School)


CCSD Office of School Operations

Cindy Saville, Transportation Director Secretary


CCSD Office of Support Services

Colleen Manuel, Facility Maintenance Supervisor Secretary


CCSD Office of Technology & Information Services

Jeremy Gravley, Technology Logistics Manager



Back to School News      Print News Article