Open vision bar

CCSD Announces Class of 2020 Valedictorians and Salutatorians

Posted On: Thursday, May 21, 2020

CCSD 2020 Vals and Sals

Valedictorians are pictured in the top row, and salutatorians below, from left to right in alphabetical order by school.

Congratulations to the valedictorians and salutatorians for the Cherokee County School District’s Class of 2020!

CCSD’s high schools today announced the names of these top scholars, who earned their school’s highest GPAs.  

“We’re so proud of these exceptional students for the many years of dedication and determination that led to this important honor,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “The School Board and I look forward to celebrating with them in July and to hearing about their many successes in the next chapters of their lives.  They are excellent representatives of their schools and our School District, and I know their families, teachers and our entire community joins me in congratulating them and wishing them the best.”  

These exemplary students typically are honored, along with a most influential teacher they each select, at CCSD’s Annual Scholar Recognition Banquet, also attended by their families, high school Principals, Dr. Hightower and his senior staff, and the School Board.  While the banquet will not be held due to social distancing, thanks to the support of CCSD Partners the scholars and honored teachers still will receive special gifts at graduation ceremonies in July!  

The students each will receive an iPad and case, the honored teachers each will receive an Amazon gift card, and all will receive engraved plaques.  These gifts are made possible by Presenting Sponsor, LGE Community Credit Union;  Platinum Sponsors, Ecolab and Poole’s Insulation Company; Gold Sponsors, Brown & Brown Insurance of Georgia and NOVA Engineering; and Silver Sponsor: True Natural Gas.

Cherokee HS
Valedictorian Anna Huller
Honored teacher: Garrick Cheyne

Salutatorian Sabrina Nguyen
Honored teacher: Heather Smith
Creekview HS           
Valedictorian Lauren Pitkins
Honored teacher: Cleve Ard 

Salutatorian Hannah West
Honored teacher: Jason Hardin
Etowah HS    
Valedictorian Rachel Hugenberg
Honored teacher: Margo Kemmerer

Salutatorian Maxwell Marchetti
Honored teacher: Dr. Brian Heglund
River Ridge HS         
Valedictorian Alicia Mazzurra
Honored teacher: Tracye Bulger

Salutatorian Sathvika Narasimhan
Honored teacher: Jennifer Norton
Sequoyah HS 
Valedictorian Valerie Ambriz-Villela
Honored teacher: Andy Oberlies

Salutatorian Cailyn Hooper
Honored teacher: Marla Hooper (*no relation)
Woodstock HS         
Valedictorian Hayden Johnson
Honored teacher: Loretta Muise

Salutatorian Zakwan Khan
Honored teacher: Anna Grantham

Back to School News      Print News Article