• Alert:

    You have reached an old version of our website that is no longer updated.  Please go to www.cherokeek12.net to see our current district website and our current school webpages.

Close alert
Open vision bar

CCSD High School Seniors Named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Posted On: Wednesday, September 14, 2022

2023 National Merit Semifinalists 9 14 22

Five Cherokee County School District high school seniors today were named 2023 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists!

They are: of Cherokee HS, Griffen C. Bon and Braden R. Flournoy; of Creekview HS, Kylie A. Buchanan; of Etowah HS, Ty S. Phillips; and of Sequoyah HS, Paige L. Falcomata.  Less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors earn National Merit Semifinalist recognition. 

“Congratulations to our semifinalists for achieving this significant academic achievement,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “Earning National Merit recognition requires years of dedication and hard work by students.  I know that their teachers and schools join me in celebrating their accomplishment.  We’re so proud of you and look forward to seeing you advance to the next level of this competition and onto many more successes.”
They will be honored by the Cherokee County School Board and Dr. Hightower at the School Board’s October meeting.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation oversees the prestigious competition, and today named 16,000 semi-finalists, who were chosen from 1.5 Million students based on exceptional 2020 PSAT scores.  

For the next level of competition, the students will complete an application detailing academic achievements, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors; an endorsement and recommendation from a high school official; and an essay.  Students must additionally have earned SAT scores that confirm their PSAT performance. 
National Merit then will announce the 15,000 finalists, who will compete for 7,500 scholarships worth about $30 million to be awarded in the spring.

Back to School News      Print News Article