• Alert:

    You have reached an old version of our website that is no longer updated.  Please go to www.cherokeek12.net to see our current district website and our current school webpages.

Close alert
Open vision bar

CCSD Announces Second Annual Support Staff Employees of the Year Awards

Posted On: Thursday, February 13, 2020

ssoty announce 2020 2 12 20

The Cherokee County School District next month will present its second annual Support Staff Employees of the Year Awards!

The celebration on March 12 will honor one Support Staff Employee of the Year from each of CCSD’s schools, centers and central office divisions.  Each honoree will be recognized by the Superintendent of Schools and School Board members, receive a plaque and gifts of appreciation, and enjoy a reception with their family and Principal.  

“The staff who work behind the scenes in our schools and offices are dedicated to serving our students and supporting their colleagues, and do so with excellence,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “We greatly appreciate them, and these awards are an important way to shine the spotlight on all that they do.”

Award winners were selected by their school or division colleagues, and everyone who works in a support role – from bookkeepers to nurses to secretaries and many, many more people important to CCSD’s operations – is eligible for the honor.  Teachers, counselors, media specialists and administrators are not eligible, as they are honored through other awards programs. 
At the conclusion of the March 12 event, surprise presentations will be made to one overall CCSD winner each in three categories: Elementary School; Middle School/High School/Centers; Central Office.  These winners are selected by a committee of retired educators and community leaders.  

The event is made possible by generous donations from community partners including Presenting Sponsor, the Cherokee County Educational Foundation; Platinum Sponsors, ABM Industry Groups LLC, Guaranteed Seamless Gutters and Credit Union of Georgia; and Silver Sponsor, Cobb EMC. 

Additional sponsorship opportunities are available; interested businesses and organizations are encouraged to please contact Penny Dempsey at penny.dempsey@cherokeek12.net or 770.479.1871.

2020 CCSD Support Staff Employees of the Year:

ACE Academy
Terri Glasok, Supportive Instruction Paraprofessional

Arnold Mill Elementary School
Robyn Wong, Instructional Lead Strategist

Avery Elementary School
Ellie Babb, Supportive Instruction Paraprofessional

Ball Ground Elementary School STEM Academy
Kim Bishop, School Nurse

Bascomb Elementary School
Robert Fortner, Lead Custodian

Boston Elementary School
Kelley Muller, School Nurse

Carmel Elementary School
Stacy Franks, Paraprofessional

CCSD Preschool Centers
Donna Chandler, School Secretary (Johnston Preschool Center)

Cherokee High School
Teri Potts, Principal’s Secretary

Clark Creek Elementary School STEM Academy
Nancy Partin, Student Records Facilitator

Clayton Elementary School
Kim Sugar, Bookkeeper

Creekland Middle School
Rebecca Warren, Paraprofessional

Creekview High School
Linda Heinz, Principal’s Secretary

Dean Rusk Middle School
Craig Lyttle, Lead Custodian

E.T. Booth Middle School
Sue King, Bookkeeper

Etowah High School
Bethany Reams, Athletic Director’s Secretary

Free Home Elementary School
Vicki Wheeler, Bookkeeper

Freedom Middle School
Gina Nelson, School Secretary

Hasty Elementary School Fine Arts Academy
Gwen Freeman, Parent Facilitator

Hickory Flat Elementary School
Olivia Byess, Principal’s Secretary

Holly Springs Elementary School STEM Academy
Kim Moody, Instructional Lead Strategist

Indian Knoll Elementary School
Jennifer Severson, ASP Bookkeeper

Johnston Elementary School
Joanne Waver, Student Records Facilitator

Knox Elementary School STEM Academy
Shay Langston, Bookkeeper

Liberty Elementary School
Daniela McBride, Receptionist

Little River Elementary School
Cheryl Rohmer, Annex Clerk

Macedonia Elementary School
Tracy Smith, Front Office Receptionist

Mill Creek Middle School
Lori Karnes, Principal’s Secretary

Mountain Road Elementary School
Kim Rowland, Student Records Facilitator

Oak Grove Elementary School Fine Arts Academy
Ana Mirsajedin, Parent Facilitator

R.M. Moore Elementary School STEM Academy
Kayce Davidson, School Secretary

River Ridge High School
Laura Hardin, Athletic Director’s Secretary

Sequoyah High School
Kelleye Greene, Athletic Director’s Secretary

Sixes Elementary School
Angie Morgan, School Nutrition Cafeteria Manager

Teasley Middle School
Yesica Cruz, School Secretary

Tippens Education Center
Nancy Glozier, School Nutrition Assistant Cafeteria Manager

Woodstock Elementary School
Dawn Mueller, Paraprofessional

Woodstock High School
Alesia Register, Bookkeeper

Woodstock Middle School
Barbara Gentile, School Secretary

CCSD Office of Curriculum & Instruction
Cory Steinberg, Administrative Assistant to Director of Middle and High School Curriculum 

CCSD Office of Financial Management
Sara Ezell, Accounting Clerk 

CCSD Office of Human Resources
Cheryl Holcomb, Employee Benefits Specialist

CCSD Office of Safety & Security
Danielle Ross, Emergency Operations Facilitator

CCSD Office of School Operations
Sheryl Puccio, Administrative Assistant to Chief Operations Officer

CCSD Office of Support Services
Terry Cornelison, Lead Facility Technician

CCSD Office of Technology & Information Services
Goulal Tuboi, Systems Specialist

CCSD Transportation Department
Debra Basone, Transportation Department Secretary

Back to School News      Print News Article