• Alert:

    You have reached an old version of our website that is no longer updated.  Please go to www.cherokeek12.net to see our current district website and our current school webpages.

Close alert
Open vision bar

CCSD Congratulates Retiring Educators, Support Staff

Posted On: Tuesday, May 26, 2020

CCSD retirement image 5 26 2020

The Cherokee County School District is celebrating its educators and support staff who are retiring after exemplary service!

“Thank you to all of our retirees for giving us your time, talents and hearts for so many years,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “Your decision to choose a career of service to our community’s children will positively benefit generations to come.  While those who taught in our classrooms saw their influence daily, all those who labored in roles behind the scenes made a valuable difference in our students’ lives as well.”  

The majority of the retirees noted below will end their careers this month; some retired earlier in the school year based on their eligibility date.

“The School Board joins me in thanking you and wishing you the best in your next chapter: whether it’s a second career, time with grandchildren, or other joyful pursuits,” Dr. Hightower said.  “Congratulations!”

ACE Academy: Carol Hammont, Margie Hendrix, Philomena Virostek and Ulrich Wilms

Arnold Mill ES: Robyn Wong

Avery ES: Raye Miller

Bascomb ES: Ann Beattie, Kathy Goins, Gennie Lee and Diane Spears

Boston ES: Brenda Millsaps, Ann O'Mara and Julie Tillman

Carmel ES: Patricia Bussey, Audrey Craig, Martha Crutchley, Denise Karel, Dawn Mathis, Maria Tucker, June Wheeler and
Principal Paula White

CCSD Preschool Centers: Principal Victoria Thom

Cherokee HS: Cassandra Connolly, Neil Howell, Chris Lambert, Roy Lange and Dee Walker

Clayton ES: Glenda Lanier and Teresa Tatum

Creekland MS: Missy Cain, Patricia Robinson, Ronald Schwarzman and Monica Strand 

Creekview HS: Cleve Ard, Linda Heinz, Kevin Higgins, Marsha Mastriforte, Kathryn McManus, Roger Nolan and Angela Watts 

Dean Rusk MS: Carrie Barie and Ricky Williams 

E.T. Booth MS: Teri Day, William Elliott, Lisa Hassan, Sue King, Dawn Locatelli, Sherri McMullen and Barbara Whitaker 

Etowah HS: Barbara Gardner, Yvette Jones, Yelena Kondratenko, Bethany Reams and Kim Robertson 

Freedom MS: Principal Sheila Grimes 

Hasty ES Fine Arts Academy: Linda Christ

Hickory Flat ES: Kristin Johnson and Norma McClure 

Holly Springs ES STEM Academy: Principal Donna Bertram, Denise Cloer and Doris Hemphill 

Indian Knoll ES: Janeen Bond and Susan Jackelen-Rutters 

Johnston Preschool Center: Soraya Benitez 

Knox ES STEM Academy: Wanda Bracket, Donna Glandorf, Jeannie Haas and Patricia Weathers 

Liberty ES: Pamila Daniel, Ladonna Tucker and Stacy Yawn 

Little River ES: Principal Karen Carl 

Macedonia ES: Patricia Hefner and Wanda Mulkey 

Mill Creek MS: Lori Aultman 

R.M. Moore ES STEM Academy: Dorothy Townsend 

Ralph Bunche Center: Wanda Bruce 

River Ridge HS: Keith Manus 

Sequoyah HS: Lorraine Little, Gerald Parker and Charles Wilson 

Sixes ES: Patricia Massengale, Ava Reece 

Teasley MS: Rhonda Edge, Lejean Messer, Graham Penniman and Katherine Smithyman 

Woodstock ES: Scott Fortes, Nancy Hingle, Lynne Montgomery, Debra Pinion and Kathy Yaun 

Woodstock HS: Deborah Hipp, Loretta Muise and Dianne Rice 

Woodstock MS: Charmaine Spink and Samuel Young

Cherokee County School District Offices and Departments
School Nutrition Department: Kathy Williams

Transportation Department: Ruth Colorito, Marilyn De Roo, Twyla Elliott, Diane Elrod, Kathleen Jenkins, Marianne Karnes, Mickey O'Malley, Cynthia Saville and Evelyn Sinclair

Office of Curriculum and Instruction: Tammy Sandell and Allene Lawson

Office of School Operations: Chief Operations Officer Trey Olson, Executive Director Beth Long and social worker Perry Marshall 

Office of Support Services: Director of Maintenance Ronald Barnes, Supervisor of Maintenance Randy Evans, Keith Fouts and Michael Lewis 

Office of Technology Services: James Berry and Patti Chandler 

Back to School News      Print News Article