Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar
Open vision bar


The Cherokee County Secondary Science curriculum reflects national science goals, the Georgia Department of Education’s Performance Standards and Cherokee County Student Performance Standards. The study of science in Cherokee County is approached from the fundamental view that science is a dynamic discipline. Technology, laboratory experiences, current science issues and real life problem-solving are an integral component of the science program.

For graduation, students shall earn at least four (4) units of credit in laboratory based science courses consisting of one unit of a physical science or physics, one unit of biology, one unit of either chemistry, earth science, environmental science or an AP course and one additional science unit. The fourth science unit may be used to meet both the science and elective requirements.

Courses Offered:

Biology I

Physical Science

Environment Science

Physics I

Chemistry I


Human Anatomy / Physiology

Forensic Science

Earth Systems


Science Instructors:

Akins, Chris SCI/Art chris.akins@cherokeek12.net
Bellini, Heather SCI heather.bellini@cherokeek12.net
Beyer, Tracey SCI tracey.beyer@cherokeek12.net
Bisgrove, Mary SCI mary.bisgrove@cherokeek12.net
Freeman, Katie SCI katie.freeman@cherokeek12.net
Lathem, Gloria SCI gloria.lathem@cherokeek12.net
Manwaring, Elisa SCI elisa.manwaring@cherokeek12.net
Money, Phillip SCI phillip.money@cherokeek12.net
Mora, Juan SCI juan.mora@cherokeek12.net
Piper, Jamison SCI jamison.piper@cherokeek12.net
Dugan, Tara SCI tara.dugan@cherokeek12.net
Sawicki, Henley SCI henley.sawicki@cherokeek12.net
Schumaker, Gregg SCI gregg.schumaker@cherokeek12.net
Wilt, Jenna SCI jenna.wilt@cherokeek12.net
Woszczynski, John SCI john.woszczynski@cherokeek12.net