Open vision bar

CCSD Educators Honored by the Georgia Youth Science & Technology Centers

Posted On: Tuesday, February 23, 2021

CCSD STEM Scholars Awards 2 23 21

From left to right, Georgia Youth Science & Technology Centers State Board Chairman Don Barbour, 2021 STEM Scholar Scott Reece of Teasley MS, 2020 STEM Scholar Karen Garland of Clark Creek ES STEM Academy, 2021 STEM Scholar Daniele Deneka of E.T. Booth MS and Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower.

The Cherokee County School District recently hosted a ceremony honoring three teachers with awards from the Georgia Youth Science & Technology Centers.

The statewide STEM education organization earlier this school year named E.T. Booth MS teacher Daniele Deneka and Teasley MS teacher Scott Reece as 2021 STEM Scholars and last year named Clark Creek ES STEM Academy teacher Karen Garland a 2020 STEM Scholar.  The awards recognize teaching excellence and outstanding commitment to instilling appreciation for science and math in elementary and middle school students.  As its traditional award events were cancelled, the organization scheduled a special presentation event to be held at CCSD’s administrative offices.

State Board Chairman Don Barbour presented each of the three honored educators with an award certificate, Lilly Glass sculpture and a $500 grant to purchase materials and resources to enhance classroom learning in science-based activities.  He noted how extraordinary it was for one school district to have three winners for the statewide award.  The ceremony also was attended by the award-winning teachers’ Principals, CCSD Chief Academic Officer Dr. Nicole Holmes and Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower.

“STEM learning is increasingly important for our students, and these three outstanding teachers are superstars in this field and in their profession overall,” Dr. Hightower said.  “We’re so proud of them for their hard work and dedication that led to this honor and are grateful for the instruction they give our students as well as their willingness to share best practices and resources with their colleagues.  All three are past Teacher of the Year winners for their schools and have earned numerous other accolades for exceptional and innovative instruction.  Congratulations and thank you!” 
#CCSDfam #CCSDunited #CCSDstem


Back to School News      Print News Article