Open vision bar

CCSD Celebrates Young Authors Writing Contest Winners!

Posted On: Monday, March 18, 2019

CCSD Young Authors 2019 3 18 19

UPDATE 3/28/19:The Regional results for the annual Young Authors writing competition are in!  Seven CCSD students have earned first place for their grade level and now advance to the State competition.  They are: for first grade, Ruby Resnick of Bascomb ES; fourth grade, Aubrey Smith of Holly Springs ES STEM Academy; sixth grade, Emily Cruse of Teasley MS; seventh grade, Lily Schwartz of E.T. Booth MS; 10th grade, Keilah Araujo of Etowah HS; 11th grade, Avery Adams of Woodstock HS; and 12th grade, Caroline Bulger of River Ridge HS.  Two CCSD students earned Honorable Mention for their grade level: kindergarten, Vivian Rivera of Bascomb ES; and fifth grade, Maile Rowley of Macedonia ES.


Congratulations to the winners of CCSD’s 2019 Georgia Young Authors Competition! 

This contest showcases the excellent writing instruction that is taking place in each of CCSD’s schools in Grades K-12.  The winning students’ writings now advance to Regionals, with the potential to move on to the State competition in June. The judges of every grade level remarked about the difficulty of choosing winners because of the high quality of the entries.

The winners are: kindergarten, Vivian Rivera, Bascomb ES; first grade, Ruby Resnick, Bascomb ES; second grade, Ava Lakhansingh, Bascomb ES; third grade, Regan Wehr, Bascomb ES; fourth grade, Aubrey Smith, Holly Springs ES STEM Academy; fifth grade, Maile Rowley, Macedonia ES; sixth grade, Emily Cruse, Teasley MS; seventh grade, Lily Schwartz, E.T. Booth MS; eighth grade, Emma Johnson, Dean Rusk MS; ninth grade, Jasmeen “Jazz” Peck, River Ridge HS; 10th grade, Keilah Araujo, Etowah HS; 11th grade, Avery Adams, Woodstock HS; 12th grade, Caroline Bulger, River Ridge HS.

The winners will be recognized by the Cherokee County School Board and Superintendent of Schools at a School Board meeting this spring. 


Back to School News      Print News Article