• Alert:

    You have reached an old version of our website that is no longer updated.  Please go to www.cherokeek12.net to see our current district website and our current school webpages.

Close alert
Open vision bar

Creekland MS Student Takes Top Speller Honors

Posted On: Thursday, January 28, 2021

huck with trophy

County spelling champ Huck Wallace with his first-place trophy.

Creekland Middle School seventh-grader Huck Wallace claimed the title as the county’s top speller at the 2021 Cherokee County School District Spelling Bee held January 21.  Huck spelled “dubiously” and then “immolate” to take the top honors.  Alessia Colby of Woodstock Elementary School captured second, and Joey Shipley of Teasley Middle School placed third. 

Thirty Cherokee County students put their spelling skills to the test in the Georgia Association of Educators and Cherokee County Association of Educators’ annual competition, which was held virtually over Microsoft Teams.  The spellers went 10 rounds over 90 minutes before a winner was decided. Spellers tackled tricky words such as “octonocular,” “salubrious” and “expostulate.”  Students in grades 4-8 are eligible for the competition, each school winner advances to the county event. 

spelling bee winner with trophy

Woodstock ES student Alessia Colby placed 2nd in the Spelling Bee.

All three students will advance to the GAE  Region Spelling Bee in Cobb County on February 27; the state finals are set for March 19. State winners advance to the Scripps National Spelling Bee held in Washington, DC in May.

The county spelling bee is sponsored each year by Cherokee County Association of Educators and the Georgia Association of Educators. Bekki Couch is the GAE Spelling Bee Coordinator and served as judge along Peta Murray and Tiffany Robbins.  John Carter served as caller of the words.

bee winner with trophy

Teasley MS student Joey Shipley placed third in the Bee.

The school winners are:

Arnold Mill Elementary Hudson McKoy 5
Avery Elementary Cameron Hale 5
Ball Ground STEM Academy Wells Hutchison 5
Bascomb Elementary Jordan Cape 4
Bost on Elementary Adeline DaSantos 4
Carmel Elementary Elias White 5
Clark Creek STEM Academy Peter Wadsworth 4
Clayton Elementary Nora Leigh Stansell 4
Creekland Middle  Huck Wallace 7
Dean Rusk Middle Greta Durant 6
E.T. Booth Middle Pradhyumna Vasishta 6
Free Home Elementary Charli Wallace 4
Freedom Middle Caden Valdes 7
Hasty Fine Arts Academy Judah Reeves 4
Hic kory Flat Elementary Sienna DeFiore 5
H olly Springs STEM Academy Arman Hunt 5
Indian Knoll Elementary Molly Dutko 5
Johnston Elementary Sarah Feitosa Amparo 5
Knox STEM Academy Madison Reeves 5
Liberty Elementary Kynat Rokarya 5
Little River Elementary Cayden Waites 5
Macedonia Elementary Isabella D'Agostino 5
Mill Creek Middle Caleb Glisson 7
Mountain Road Element ary Kayla Corsini 4
Oak Grove Fine Arts Academy Aubrey Burgess 5
R.M . Moore STEM Academy Ryker Willard 5
Sixes Elementary Stella Alfieri 4
Teasley Middle Joey Shipley 8
Woodstock Elementary Alessia Colby 5
Woodstock  Middle Cooper Tetstone 6

Back to School News      Print News Article