Open vision bar

Social Studies

Last Updated: 5/31/2022 4:19 PM

Social Studies - Jonathan Hightower (Department Chair)

Astarita, Josh Engram, Derek
Brown, Kaley Hightower, Jonathan
Cannon, Lauren Mitchell, Wesley
Cochran, Christopher Robb, Phelan
Cowart, Rhonda Ross, Colin
DeAngelis, Lana Sailers, Josh
Dexter, Ashley Sugar, Garrett
Duran, John
VanDine, Zachary


The Cherokee County School District Social Studies curriculum prepares students to become participating citizens of a democratic society in an increasingly interdependent world. Through social studies education students should acquire a continuing interest in their society; develop a respect for the dignity and worth of all persons; and achieve the depth of understanding and loyalty to democratic ideas and the skills necessary to accept responsibilities and rights of citizenships.

Three (3) units of credit are required in social studies: one unit in U.S. history, one unit in world history, one-half unit in government, and one-half unit in economics.

At Woodstock, most core courses are also offered at the honors and/or Advanced Placement levels for students who are willing to pursue the challenge of these rigorous courses. Numerous electives are offered through the Social Studies department, all of which count as academic electives for the purposes of the HOPE scholarship.