• Alert:

    You have reached an old version of our website that is no longer updated.  Please go to www.cherokeek12.net to see our current district website and our current school webpages.

Close alert
Open vision bar

Seven CCSD Students Named U.S. Presidential Scholars Program Candidates

Posted On: Tuesday, February 7, 2023

CCSD 2023 US Presidential Scholars Candidates 2 7 23

Candidates are pictured from left to right beginning at top left with Cherokee High School.

Seven Cherokee County School District Class of 2023 seniors have been named candidates for a top national honor!

As candidates for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, they are among only 5,000 students from the more than 3 million graduating seniors in the nation’s Class of 2023 selected to participate in the prestigious recognition program.  Only 173 students from Georgia were named candidates.

They are: of Cherokee High School, Griffen Bon, Braden Flournoy and Summer McRoy; of Creekview High School, Kylie Buchanan and Carson Heath; of Etowah High School, Avi Stein; of Woodstock High School, Kylie Mudie.

“Congratulations to our U.S. Presidential Scholars candidates on earning this prestigious recognition through their dedication to academic excellence,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “Each of our honorees is known in their school and community as exceptional, and we’re so proud of them.  We wish them all the best as they advance in the program.”

Established in 1964 by executive order of the President, the program was designed to honor and recognize extraordinary graduating seniors.  Candidates for the invitation-only recognition program are initially selected based on outstanding performance on the ACT or SAT.  For the next round of competition, semi-finalists will be selected based on an application that considers overall academic excellence, personal character, leadership and service activities.  Finalists will be selected based on further review of their success in these areas, with 161 Scholars to be named in the spring.  Scholars receive national recognition and an invitation to an all-expenses paid trip to the White House.  

The seven candidates will be recognized by the Cherokee County School Board and Dr. Hightower at the February School Board meeting.
#CCSDfam #2023CCSDgrads

Back to School News      Print News Article